2020 Equity of Care Awards

2021 Equity of Care Award Applications Open


The Carolyn Boone Lewis Equity of Care Awards recognize hospitals and health systems that have moved beyond plans and awareness of the #123forEquity pledge to action. This award celebrates organizations that demonstrate high achievement in advancing diversity, health equity, and equitable health care as evidenced through data, leadership, cultural awareness, and partnerships. These efforts have benefits including improved patient experiences, outcomes of care, reduced per capita cost and improved workforce preparedness in the following areas: 

• Increasing the collection and use of race, ethnicity, language preference (REaL) and other socio-demographic data
• Increasing cultural competency training
• Increasing diversity in leadership and governance
• Improving and strengthening community partnerships


The 2021 application open September 28 through December 8, 2020

Online Application Available Here

Application Requirements:

  1. All applicants must be a member of the American Hospital Association
  2. All applicants must have signed the #123forEquity Pledge 
  3. Only online applications will be accepted.                                                 


For more information about the Equity of Care Awards, please email equityofcare@aha.org


2020 Award winners

Cone Health - Greensboro, N.C. (Winner) 

Chatham Health - Siler City, N.C. (Honoree)  

Henry Ford Health System - Detroit (Honoree) 

Learn More 

Apply for 2021 Award